For the past year or so I have been thinking about going back to school, but yet I still haven’t made the decision.

I’m a 26 year old Graphic and Media graduate from UAL in London, working locally on a salary that is very nice to have where I live. It’s probably more than I’d be on if I were to stay in London and work, or at least saving more money than I would be if I was to commute everyday or live in London.

I must say though, after every city working film I watch it makes me want to move. Move back into the city to experience the life that I think could have, that to be honest, what I didn’t have when I was studying there for three years.

The first two years I lived there, and then for the third I commuted in because well, we weren’t in that much. I slightly regret that decision but hey we can’t go back. I also had a lot of personal issues going on throughout my second year and into my third, so that had a big part to play in it all too.

At the end of last year I really looked into moving to Vancouver and doing a masters there at UBC, but the cost would just be off the charts. As I said before, my job right now is ideal for someone my age. The cost would be 25k plus for one year…not sure I can deal with that. Plus, I’d definitely need to get out a loan and the savings that I do have, I’d like to put towards a property someday. Vancouver don’t think you’ve got rid of me yet, I may try for a visa one day. That place has got me like peanut butter and jelly.

The other day, my friend and colleague told me that her friend that I met at lunch was going back to study at UAL. He practices furniture patterns and things like that. It got me thinking, maybe I should do something and be serious about it. I wouldn’t do it unless I was sure though, and I know that I’d only want it to be a year course too. Central Saint Martins is super appealing, not only does the new building look incredible, it’s super close to Kings Cross Station which I come in on. I would still live at home I reckon, but I’d have the flexibility to go out and about, stay over with friends and things like that right? I see lots of activities that I think I’d enjoy in London that start at 6pm, which is totally not doable with my current situation, so again another plus.

It’s not that I don’t love what I do, and my job; I honestly don’t want to move jobs at all. I just think that I need some sort of change, a change in scenery whether it be doing a short course meeting new people, relocating somewhere unexpected (or expected, lets be honest), to travel; as I never have been away for no longer than 4 weeks at a time, I don’t think you can call that ‘travelling’, or even if it’s trying to find things to do after work.I think my mum wants me to join the gym, I must say the new classes that they have available do sound super appealing too. All I know is, I think I need to make some sort of decision soon, or at least take some actions and actually do it. Be assertive with my choices and just go for it. I need to believe in myself. I have no ties here, I’m not in a relationship and I don’t have any ‘real’ responsibilities like a house or anything, so what’s stopping me? There’s been so many times where I have written things down, thought about them but time goes by and it just doesn’t happen – but I’m sure a lot of you find that that happens.

All I know is, I don’t want to be one of ‘those’ people who regret things, or get annoyed at themselves for not going for it whatever it may be, I need to discover it. So, as they say, “sometimes you find yourself in the middle of nowhere, and sometimes in the middle of nowhere you find yourself.” You could take this as it stands, you need to get lost, go out into the wild and discover yourself, but at the same time to someone else getting lost could be surrounded by thousands of people; to me it’s reaching out of your comfort zone. Breaking free you could say. You could find yourself in the most unusual or surprising of places.

Leave a Reply

